3 Easy to Spot Symptoms of Sleep Apnea That Can Save Your Life (and Your Marriage)

My colleague Kim whacked my shoulder with a backhand slap with her left hand.

Kyle Okimoto
2 min readJul 25, 2023

“Right, Kyle?!?”

I woke up.

I was presenting the coming year’s marketing plan and I couldn’t stay awake. What was wrong with me?

I had sleep apnea.

Looking back, three observable symptoms pointed to an obvious problem. If you share these symptoms, I urge you to take a sleep study. Or if you see them in others, encourage them to get checked. The quality of your life can improve immediately by addressing sleep apnea.

3 symptoms of sleep apnea

You snore: Early in our marriage, my wife recorded my snoring on a cassette tape. We thought it was hilarious, but it was a red flag.

You take regular naps: I love naps. But it’s not normal to have to take a nap after “sleeping” for 7 or 8 hours!

You struggle to stay awake when you have to: beyond important work meetings, I fell asleep watching Broadway shows and movies. Driving from Dallas to Shreveport I pulled off the freeway to nap.

I took a sleep study and the numbers didn’t lie

On average I was waking up 30 times an hour. There were several times I didn’t breathe for 2 minutes!

Think about what that does to your body if this happens night after night for years.

My CPAP machine allows me to have proper sleep

I have a love/hate relationship with this device. It looks ridiculous. But by using it, I noticed right away I had more energy and my mind was sharper.

I hate to pack my machine when I travel, but the difference is stark when I forget it. I need naps. Drowsiness blankets me during long drives.

Sleep apnea is an easily identifiable issue. One that can be immediately addressed and covered by insurance. Look into it if you suspect it.

--

--

Kyle Okimoto

I empower business owners to jumpstart growth | CMO & Head of Transformation @etrade @MerrillLynch | 4 Boston Marathons | Northwestern Wildcat fan